Philippines Imposes Partial Travel Ban to South Korea

Partial Travel Ban to and From South Korea

The Philippine government enacted travel restrictions on some locations in South Korea. Filipino tourists are prohibited from going to the country because of the increasing number of cases of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).

The Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infections Disease approved the entry ban on travelers coming from the North Gyeongsang province of South Korea immediately.

Presidential spokesperson Panelo said travelers from other areas in South Korea are allowed to enter the Philippines but Filipino tourists are prohibited from visiting any part of the East Asian country.

The only people authorized by the IATF to travel to South Korea are the following:
Permanent residents of South Korea.
Those who are leaving to study; and
Overseas Filipino workers.

They must sign a declaration signifying their knowledge and understanding of the risks involved, prior to their travel.

The Inter-Agency Task Force is currently investigating the situation. They will help the government decide on whether or not it’s necessary to expand the entry ban to the rest of South Korea by tomorrow, February 28, 2020.

For now, South Korea joins China and its administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau as places with existing travel bans.

For more updates subscribe to our blog!

CNN Philippines
Philstar Global
GMA News Online

Was this helpful?

Close Menu